Close this search box.

Scholarship Program Guidelines

The Gouverneur Hospital Auxiliary recognizes and honors the service and dedication of four deceased members:  Peg Hanlon, Betsy Deuval, Della Evans and Janet Storch.  Scholarships in their honor are awarded annually to students pursuing a career in a medical or health related field.  These scholarships memorialize the efforts of these community women who worked tirelessly to provide comfort and care to those in need.  The scholarships are funded by the Auxiliary on an annual basis and the awards are discretionary, depending upon the qualifications of the candidates and the availability of funds.

To be eligible for this scholarship, an individual must be a high school graduate who has successfully completed at least one semester of college and reside in the Gouverneur Hospital service area.  This area includes the towns of Fowler, Antwerp, Edwards, DeKalb, DePeyster, Harrisville, Hermon, Macomb, Richville, and Rossie.  Consideration will be given to current Gouverneur Hospital employees who live outside of the service area.  Applicants must apply for the scholarship on an annual basis.

A committee of Auxiliary members will select the award recipients.  Criteria for selection includes career interest, financial need and academic achievement.

If you have further questions, contact Janet Melillo, Scholarship Director, at 315-222-8738.

Completed applications must be received by May 10, 2024.

Past Scholarship Recipients

** Please see Photographs Located Under the Photo Gallery Tab **


2024: Clancy, Alex; Impaglia, Ella; Mussaw, Peyton; and Riutta, Elizabeth